Figure and Motion – Caricatures

For my caricature, I decided to exaggerate my ears and mouth for the most part. I tried to incorporate a variety of styles in my sketches to see which one would work best. I ended up going with one with a more squashed face rather than something stretched out.

 

After reading chapter one in Scott McCloud’s ‘Understanding Comics,’ it made me actually question the fine line that divides comics and animation. One of the only differences between the two is their presentation. An animation takes place in only one section, where as in a comic, the story may take place in many positions throughout the canvas.

This chapter also brought me back to the realization that many people view the career choice of an artist as a joke. They don’t believe that there is any real value in that job. This is where we have to do our best to prove them wrong. For with out us, there are no high grade CGI movies, no entertaining comics, no fancy advertisements. With artists, life would be dull.

In chapter 2, it was mentioned that artists can simplify a drawing down the the basic lineart and shapes, and people still have the ability to recognize it as is. It’s amazing what the human mind is capable of. The imagination of the human mind is what helps bring things such as comics to life. Without them, the characters don’t have their personalities. It is up to you, the viewer, to bring them forth to their full potential.

This entry was posted in Non-Timedbased, Research, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment